Skip navigation

I was in Stillwater seeing my son who is a sophomore at Oklahoma State.  Its only 45 minutes north up I-35, but on the way home last night it occurred to me while listening to Phillips, Craig and Dean sing, “I Am a Friend of God,” that I actually am a friend of God!  Wow! 

 

I am a friend to a lot of people.  I have one friend who tells me that I am “relationship rich.”  What he means is I have a wealth of personal relationships; I know a lot of people.  I value people.  Relationships are important to me.  My wife says that I have friends because I am such a good friend to have.  Friendship is something I work at.  If you want a friend, be a friend.  Whatever the case, I truly believe that all of life boils down to relationships, ultimately one’s relationship with God. 

 

An incredible thing about having a personal relationship with God is that he actually considers you his friend!  If you asked people what they want most in life I think (if they were absolutely honest) they would tell you that they want to belong.  God made us to enjoy relationships.  We want to belong to a group of people who love and value us.  That group may be our family, fraternity, club, church, prayer group, or Rotary.  Whatever the case, we go to great lengths to meet our need to belong to something.  And in the end we should realize that what is most important is to belong to God; to be considered his friend.

 

“Abraham believed God, so God declared him to be righteous.  He was even called ‘the friend of God.’”  (James 2:23b)  What was it about Abraham that made God want to call him “friend?”  Nothing.  Whether or not Abraham was God’s friend was never about Abraham, it was always about God.  It is the same way with us.  What does it mean to be God’s friend?   It means he chose you.  God chooses us as his friends.  “You are my friends if you obey me…You didn’t choose me.  I chose you.  I appointed you to go and produce fruit that will last,…”

Leave a Reply

