Skip navigation

Made any mistakes today?  I sat alone this morning drinking my coffee thinking about some of the mistakes I’ve made in recent days.  There are many.  Most of them poor decisions that had some sort of negative impact on those around me; my wife, kids, friends and work associates.

 

Ronald Reagan once said that even if you live your life properly, by the time you reach his age (he was in his seventies) you’ve made plenty of mistakes.  Does it strike you as a little scary that the most powerful man in the world at that time was also considering the mistakes he had made…and that there were plenty?

 

I tend to move on beyond my mistakes and don’t use a lot of time evaluating the result or outcome of those mistakes.  I am the guy who always seems pretty positive and sees the best in people first.  I know people, however, who dwell on their mistakes and do a pretty good job beating themselves up over them.  I struggle with those people because I think it is so easy to get stuck in the middle of all the mistakes they make and never move on.  I want to move on.  I want to learn from my mistakes but I don’t want to live among them.

 

Consequences are sometimes difficult to deal with.  And all of our mistakes have consequences.  And, I’m sorry to say, that some of those consequences are hard to shake.  I admire the life of Ronald Reagan.  Regardless of what you think of him, he made a difference even in the midst of his many mistakes.  I am sure he would have loved to have had the opportunity to reconsider some of the decisions he made.  But he was a man who moved beyond his mistakes.

 

Find a way today to move on; to move beyond your mistakes and live more free and unencumbered by the mistakes you will certainly make.  I’ll blow it today and make several mistakes.  Hopefully, however, I can deal with the consequences and enjoy a life that is more meaningful every day.

“If your boss is angry with you, don’t quit!  A quiet spirit can overcome even great mistakes.”  Ecclesiastes 10:4

Leave a Reply

