Skip navigation

William Shatner, better known to some of us as Captain Kirk, lived down the street from fellow actor, Marlon Brando.  He always wanted to talk to him but never did.  “He would have taken my call,” Shatner said.  “I could have taken him to lunch.  But because I thought he might not, I didn’t do it.  I wish I had.”  Seems like a small thing to most of us.  Gee, he missed lunch with the Godfather! 

 I asked my 22 year old son what he regretted most about his life.  He said, “I don’t regret anything about my life.  God has used everything in my life to make me the man I am!”  Perfect answer!!

 God does not waste a thing.  Every little detail about our lives is just one more detail he uses to define who we are and what we are capable of.  His redemptive nature assures us of always landing on our feet. The poor decisions, irresponsible behavior, sinful conduct and rebellion are all used in positive ways as God forms a useful life when we seek his forgiveness and mercy. 

 Redemption is the act of delivering from sin or saving from evil. It is the saving significance of the death of Jesus Christ.  Jesus has saved us from those poor decisions, sinful conduct and behavior, and rebellion.  There are consequences to bear but there is also freedom and victory in our salvation.

 Do not live your life filled with regret.  Understand that God’s son, Jesus Christ has paid the price for your sin with his death on the cross.  In doing so, he has redeemed you and everything about you.

 “He gave his life to free us from every kind of sin, to cleanse us, and to make us his very own people, totally committed to doing what is right.”  (Titus 2:14 TLB)

Leave a Reply

