Skip navigation

For two years I sold pretzels for a living.  Really.  I had three partners and we owned and operated eight Auntie Anne’s Soft Pretzel stores.  It was my baptism in the workplace.  Up until that time I had earned my living as a minister, working on church staffs and running a counseling ministry.  But for those two years I learned what running a business was all about.  And quite frankly, I was bad at it.  But I persevered and at the end of those two years I went back to what I do best; ministering to the needs of people.  But after learning a little about the business world and how hard it is to make a living, I find that I am better at nearly everything I do.  I would not take anything for the experience.  It was so valuable!

Not everyone has the opportunity to do what they want and what they enjoy.  But if one has any control over the direction in one’s career, then that direction should include what one enjoys.  Pursuing a career at which one excels and enjoys may mean sacrifice in some way.  Perhaps not as much money can be made or one’s location is not ideal.  But the benefit of finding great success and meaning in one’s work and career will be worth it.

God says, “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men” (Colossians 3:23).  Whatever direction your career takes you, your focus should be to please God with your work.  The more you can please him, the more you will be pleased with yourself.  Work for yourself and for God and do not worry about everyone else’s work.  Do what you know you do best!

Leave a Reply

