Skip navigation

For several years I have started the majority of days at the local coffee shop.  A lot of people give me a hard time about it.  I think they are just jealous because they can’t do the same thing.  Because of what I do for a living and how I do it, I have a great deal of flexibility in my schedule.  I like starting my day with a good cup of coffee and the friendly banter of men who love and accept me.  We kid each other about our group making up the best church congregation we have ever been a part of.

We are a pretty tight group.  We come from different backgrounds and earn a living in different ways.  There are two chaplains, a CFO, a retiree, a mortgage broker, college professor, and a home builder.  What we have in common is our relationship with God.  That relationship binds all the other relationships together.  In that relationship we find the strength to love and support one another.  We find the ability to be honest and transparent.  Through our individual relationships with God we find the desire to love one another differently than others.

These men are my “bar ditch friends” or in a day many years ago, the guys who I would call for help to get my wagon out of the ditch.  They are men I know I can count on.  They love me in spite of what I do or say.  They are faithful to God and to me.  And if something happened to me, I know they would care for my wife and kids.  I know these things because we love God together and I would do the same for them.

I have said for many years that I have more close friends than any man has the right to have.  My wife says I have friends because I am a friend.  Trust me.  Friendship is worth the price you pay.  Decide now to make the effort and take the time to develop some new relationships.  It is worth it!

One Comment

  1. Hi Jon,
    I love to read your thoughts. I just sent this article to the four other men on the team I serve on and encouraged them to think about how God could work among us this way. We have a long way to go, but I know that God is directing me to lead out within this group.
    Thanks,
    Chris


Leave a Reply

