Skip navigation

As a minister I love officiating weddings; especially when I know the couple and have invested in their lives. So to have the opportunity to officiate my daughter’s wedding was a special treat for me. But what if I cried? What if I could not continue with the ceremony? A daddy is supposed to cry at his daughter’s wedding. Right? I had officiated the wedding of my son, Matthew and his beautiful bride, Ali just seven months before…and I cried. But it all worked out to be a perfect day and wedding.

The first time I knew I was in troubDSC_1248le at Emily’s wedding was as I walked my beautiful bride of 36 years down the aisle…and cried, although it was silently and I covered pretty well. Then as the doors opened and I stood there with my precious daughter on my arm facing the crowd of people who were there to express their love to Emily and eat my tacos, I cried. I walked her down the aisle and ever so gently, cried my eyes out. It was such a precious time for her and for our family. I was finally giving her away to a special guy who adores her and is a wonderful husband for life.

Steele’s best man was his dad, Russell who finally asked me that question every father either dreads hearing or has anxiously anticipated, “Who gives this woman in marriage?” “Sherri and I,” I replied. Then I took my place in front of the couple and throughout the service, struggled keeping it together. It was fun and having the opportunity to officiate my kid’s weddings is an incredible experience for me.

I try to keep from developing unreasonable expectations. I think getting through the weddings of my son and daughter without showing any emotion is pretty unreasonable. So, my expectation of crying at my daughter’s wedding went fulfilled…and I survived.

2 Comments

  1. One of the most PRECIOUS things about our wedding was when you cried! I knew that you had prayed for me when I was in the singles. When I look back on that evening I am filled with joy for the love that was displayed that night by those we felt had invested in our lives. Miss you and your bride! You and Sheri will always be a couple that impacted my life in tremendous ways!

  2. Yeah, well you come from a family of criers. A real man cries at appropriate times, and a beautiful daughter getting married is cause for tears!

    Jon, you and your lovely bride are obviously wonderful parents—Coming to your home last month—it was so obvious that there is such a deep

    love and affection in your family. And why not? You and I and a bunch of others had incredible role models of love and how to just be family! As I get

    older, and think about actually being mortal and realistically knowing that I have maybe 12-15 years if I’m very blessed. So, I think that just after meeting

    Jesus, himself, and then my grandson that I never got to hold, I want to just stand there and look one more time at all those Cooks! Wow, that will be so cool!

    So go ahead and cry—it’s a sign you love them with all your heart,

    Quoting Jon Cook

    :

    Jon Cook posted: “As a minister I love officiating weddings; especially when I know the couple and have invested in their lives. So to have the opportunity to officiate my daughter’s wedding was a special treat for me. But what if I cried? What if I could not continue with”


Leave a Reply

