Skip navigation

I’m sitting in his chair, in his house, around his things, remembering times when we talked about stuff. He was one of the two fathers God blessed me with in my life. My own dad was my best friend and passed away in 2009. My father-in-law, in whose chair I’m sitting in at this moment, was the other. He passed away in 2012.

I learned different things from each man. Dad taught me the value of people, of relationships, of serving others, of loving my family. My father-in-law taught me the importance of conservative values, integrity, and high moral standards. He was a highly disciplined man with high expectations of those around him. He could also be generous.

Both men grew up very poor. Dad was one of nine siblings. His father died when he was just a child. However, dad enjoyed the blessing of a godly mother and wonderful brothers and sisters. ST was one of seven siblings. His father left the family when ST was just a child. However, he enjoyed the blessing of a godly mother and wonderful brothers and sisters! Do you see a pattern?

While both men struggled to make it on their own, growing up poor, putting themselves through college, and establishing a career path, both of them had help. Help from family and friends.

In a world where family and close relationships seem to mean less and less all the time, each of us could do well stopping for a few moments to consider who and how we could help. No matter if you seem to be the one that needs help, you can always find someone else who needs your help.

Dad and my father-in-law spent their lives helping and serving others. They made a difference. I want to do the same! Isn’t it time you help someone?

“For even the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve others and to give his life as a ransom for many.” Mark 10:45

One Comment

  1. What a blessing these men were to you. And what a blessing you are to so many friends. Thank God for time, so we can see how He works.


Leave a Reply

