Skip navigation

There may not be a better time in the life of a grandparent than right after your toddler wakes from a nap. All rested, peaceful, and anxious to cuddle with her grandfather, 21 month old Harper climbed up in my lap to say hi, rest her head on my shoulder, hold her blankie close, and stay…for a minute.

I left Harper’s house a little later thinking about how precious those moments are and how they just don’t happen often enough. So many grandparents I know don’t live near their grandchildren and those moments are nearly nonexistent to them. Ugh!

I realize the day will come when my grandchildren may not have time for Pops. I don’t look forward to that day. I’d rather just sit on the sofa with a lap full of little girl. I find myself reflecting on the moments I have with my three granddaughters, thanking God for the privilege of being their Pops. I hope I’m up to the challenge!

As I drove away the other day I remembered to pray 1 Timothy 4:12 over Harper, Olivia, and Caroline: “Don’t let anyone think less of you because you are young. Be an example to all believers in what you say, in the way you live, in your love, your faith, and your purity.”

One Comment

    • jcook01@centurytel.net
    • Posted March 28, 2017 at 5:57 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Amen to this pos t-Cuz!


Leave a Reply

